Total newby to Flight Simulation, help needed

The Cameraman

Hi Chaps,

I wonder if some of you guys can get me started with flight sims?

I've flown float equiped DHC-2 Beavers over in Canada and now find that I've been permanently grounded due to medical reasons.

After getting over the initial shock I've decided that the only way I can continue is via flight sims. So I'm looking to purchase everything from scratch.

The aircraft I'd like to cover would be;

a, my trusty Beaver (on floats) or amphibious if possible,

b, a PBY catalina (an aircraft I'd have loved to have flown),

c, a Grumman Albatross (as above).

As you can see I really love aircraft that get their belly's wet!

The regions I'd like to fly would include;

a, west coast of British Columbia,

b, London (Thames, now wouldn't that be fun),

c, Scotland (Loch Lomond & Loch Earn).

So I'd appreciate any comments/suggestions from the following points;

1, Hardware - I plan to have a PC dedicated purely for flight sim use and wonder what system specs youd recommend, without totally breaking the bank?

2, Hardware - what control column, throttle quadrant, rudder pedals would be ideal for my needs, noting I'm looking for a realistic experience.

3, Software - which FS product would you suggest as being user friendly but capable of very good resolution? I'm looking for real time use.

4, Software - Which Beaver add on would you recommend (no guessing the answers to this one)! Please note that the Flight Sim PC will not be linked to the internet and that any updates will be downloaded onto my laptop first before being copied onto CD then onto the FS PC.

I know my requirements are very specific but if you can answer any of the points I'd be most grateful.

Thanking you in anticipation of you replies.

It´s a matter of how much money you want to spend. For a Beaver you are quite right here, the Aerosoft one is the best I have flown till now.