DC 8 Trim, Fuel and Payload issues in FSX: SE

Tim Kirosingh

I'm kinda new to the DC-8 and just recently purchased the product. When I load up the DC8 in FSX:SE and use the Fuel & Payload Loader I can add passenger figures, but the Gross Weight remains unchanged. The same is true when I try to load or unload fuel. The Loader won't allow me to make any changes to the forward and aft cargo and so remains at zero. Also, when I try to add or take anyway any fuel it doesn't show on the fuel gauges and remains at it's default settings of full tanks. I'm having problems with the elevator trim as well i've tried adjusting it using the trim on my joystick. It doesn't respond to the default keys on my keyboard ( Elevator Trim Num 7 & Num 1) either. I've even tried assigning other keystrokes. But the trim does work when the autopilot is selected. The strange thing is I have just install the DC 8 in my boxed FSX version using Windows 7 and everything work perfectly fine.

I would be most grateful if anyone can help.

• Developer

Very likely this is a faulty or missing XMLTools install.  XMLTools is a module that allows various custom behaviours that aren't possible with a default aircraft. 

See the thread referenced below for details and be sure to post again here if that doesn't sort out the problem:

• 2 weeks later...

hello.