A330 Auto Step Climb issues.

Hello:

I attempted to use auto step climb but encountered several issues:

-When the aircraft step-climbed, the altitude in the MCDU and on the MCP did NOT change.  I started at FL360 with step FL400 (Red boxes).

-Because the ALT did not change in the MCDU, the TOD was not correctly calculated and I flew past it - airplane thought I was still at FL360.  See ND pic 1.

-Even though engaged, the autothrottle stopped working and I was overspeed. Airplane would not slow to MCDU cruise speed. (Orange box)

-When I manually changed ALT in MCDU and on MCP to FL400 and began my decent, airplane had loss of control (pic 2).  Had to turn off all autoflight systems, turn back on and fly airplane using V/S and speed...VNAV was useless.

Please login to display this image.

Hi,

I haven't used the A330 sim yet, as I'm waiting for the P3DV5 update, so not sure of it's logic.

I am a real world A330 pilot though.

There is no 'Auto' step climb. Step climbs are a planning tool in the flightplan only (MCDU), approaching a planned step climb you request a clearance, then select the new ALT in the MCP window, and push the ALT knob (not the ALT hold button) if in managed modes (NAV), or pull if in selected mode (HDG).

The Cruise alt in the MCDU should now change to your new MCP cruise alt and the jet should climb.

Also at TOD, unlike Boeings, the aircraft will not descend of its own accord, you must select a new altitude, then either push the ALT knob for a managed descent, or pull for open descent.

I hope this helps,

Cheers,

Matt

3 hours ago, mattsimsA330 said:

Hi,

I haven't used the A330 sim yet, as I'm waiting for the P3DV5 update, so not sure of it's logic.