Dovetails Flight School

According to official Dovetail statements, DFs is explicitly not for most of those around on the Aerosoft forums being used to fly other simulators like FSX/Prepar3d/X-Plane. This said, neither me nor you :D are in the target group, but perhaps the 1 % absolute beginners around here.

I bought it for two reasons: First, as I was curious to get a preview onto the DT full simulator due at the end of this year. Second, to support a new approach into flight simulation.

Franky said, I found it a real disappointment. I can live with the limited number of planes and being only GA (I mostly fly GA anyway), I can live with missing systems for now (no dark and cold start), and can live with my Saitek panels not being supported. I am pretty sure these will be added to the full simulator. However, the disappointment is with the graphics. Don't beginners deserve a nice view out of the cockpit? Colors are horrible, cockpit shadows antialiasing is terrible and the scenery with airports cut out of the surrounding looks bad as well. I know this is FSX inheritance of the landclass approach which P3D sports as well, however both  have enough hand-crafter scenery available to enjoy. However, a new simulator started in 2016 should have definitely deserved something better - even more if it's made to fascinate beginners! 

Contrary to the elements named above and in view of the amount of work ahead of Dovetail, I am afraid, they will consider the base rendering engine essentially done -  I still don't hope so.

I bought this in parallel with AeroflyFS2. Given this is an Early Access title, it's all but ready, too. It lacks autogen or OSM based buildings, AI planes, Saitek panels support etc. However, this is an alternative approach, and I think IPACS has done a very good job of laying the base. I just can enjoy the view out of the cockpit, which, in my opinion, looks much closer to the real thing than in DFs.