Discus Gliders

Rockitglider

Hello,

I purchesed both of the Discus glider packages this week, and I have to say they fly really well, a small learning curve because all I've ever flown is RC Gliders, but I have been flying them for over 15 years. I'm very impressed at the detail both in the visual and flight modeling of these gliders. I think the K model is going to take some getting used to as I do my aerobatics in RC gliders and this is a big difference. The models don't yaw as much as the real thing, thereby making it easier to control in flight. But I'm sure with some practice I will get it without stalling :rolleyes: . Thanks for doing the Gliders, they are my favorite planes to fly. From what I've read in the manuals that came with them it was a great deal of work to complete them. I hope there will be some online flying for these often, but I need to figure out how to fly online first(Getting connected). Well, It's time to go up to the hill and fly my RC gliders, so have a great day, If you would like to see the hill, check out the link on my signature, there is also a weekly linked blog on RCGroups forum that has more current pics under the name MWilliams

See ya, Rockitglider :D

Thanks for the compliments - it's good you're starting with a detailed understanding of slope soaring, so ridge soaring in the Discus should be second nature...

If you haven't installed it already, get CumulusX - this will give you thermals with cumulus clouds on top *and* ridge lift, the two essentials for soaring.

As a RC pilot, you won't have spent too much time with the instruments I guess, and the Discus has a full competition panel. But altitude/speed/vario will do for local soaring... there are a couple of tutorials in a sub-forum of this one.

Here are some ridge-soaring tasks, all designed for a NW wind (of, say, 17 knots), from Mifflin, PA:

mifflin_tasks.jpg

B21