Twin Otter X Comment And Questions

spike9

First off, I just purchased this aircraft and have to say it's a great model and I love flying it.

That being said I do have a couple of quick questions and comments for Aerosoft. Having worked on Twin Otters for over a decade as an engineer I'm quite familiar with the aircraft and can see that great attention was paid to the detail of the aircraft. I was curious and forgive me if this has been answered in a previous disscussion (quick search of forum found nothing), but why did Aerosoft decided to do the models with 8 passenger windows instead of the more commonly seen 7 window configuration. This especially true when looking at the 300 series which introduced the forward window emergency exits which are not depicted in your models. Most of the Twins I've seen in my career both with the company I worked for (First Air) and from other operators looked like these:

First Air Twin Otter C-FNAN

First Air Twin Otter C-FTFX

First Air Twin Otter C-GNDO

We operated the Twin in just about every configuration available regular tires, intermediate tires, tundra tires, wheel skis and floats. As do many operators in northern climates and lets not forget the Antarcitca. I was dissappointed not to see the tundra tire or amphib float version. I know the amphibs aren't as popular due to the weight, but they are used frequently for Twin Otter water bombers.

Also the aircraft is a little light when it comes to radio antennas. Again I'm used to seeing HF, dual ADF and dual VHF Antennas. Yours is looking a little naked on top.

Again, overall I think you've produced a great aircraft you just missed a few key elements.

Thanks for the reply Mathijs.