Control view in 3D Panel with an analog ministick

brandy0018

Hi everybody.

I am new to XP11 (jumped over from FSX/P3D). But before I can go deep into the new sim I am struggling with some basics settings concerning the VIEW manipulations in the 3D Cockpit. What I want is pretty simple. I like to control the view in pitch and heading via an analog ministick on my Joystick. Stick left =view left…and the more I deflect the stick the faster the view should change. And when I release the stick the view should stop in its current position. Quite self-explanatory.

I have a Saitek X56 HOTAS and I am used to control the view with that ministick (controlled with the thumb). XP11 (11.30r1) recognizes the joystick without any problems and all axes respond correctly.

What I have tried so far is to assign “view left/right” and “view up/down” to the axes of the ministick. That basically does what I want but the problem is that after I release the stick the view reverts back to its origin (same as the ministick itself does).

As a second try I assigned “Camera left/right” and “camera up/down” but this seems to have no effect on views at all.

Can anybody help me? I know there is a plugin named x-camera that probably helps but for the moment I would be happy realizing it without that.

• Administrator

Hello brandy0018,

welcome here with X-Plane 11 at first :)

I think, I know what you want.

But the ministick will go into the middle position if you release the ministick and so also the view will go back to the middle position if the ministick is an "axis".

With X-Plane 11.30r1 you can configure the ministick also as an Hat Stick. May be this will work better.

I have configured my views with the Hat Button of my Joystick (T.16000).

This Hat Button has 6 positions and this  I can configure with the views moving.

For example Hat right -> Rotate View: pan right.

As long as I hold the Hat right the view will move to the right.