Jump to content

Removing backward compatibility in version 1.17 and 1.18


pellelil
 Share

Recommended Posts

Up until now FV have been fully backward compatible with all previous versions, so even if you skipped a version or two you could always install the latest version of FV without fearing your personal imported flightplans, or user settings would no longer load. But with version 1.17 I will be removing some of that backward compatibility and with version 1.18 I will be removing even more.

 

During the +2 year development cycle a lot have changed below the surface as new functionality have been added to the program and a lot of code have been added to make the program stay backward compatible with even the oldest versions (e.g. the flightplan file-format is currently in its 11th format-version). I would like to stream-line the code and remove much of this code that ensures this backward compatibility, as it has recently started to get in the way of things I want to do.

 

As a result I urge all users who have not yet updated to version 1.16 to do so, and likewise when version 1.17 releases I urge all users to update to this version as well. Version 1.17 will forcefully update all (active) flightplan-files to ensure these are fully updated to the latest format-version. This will ensure all flightplans will load into version 1.18 and later without any issues.

 

If you have spread your flightplans across multiple sub-folders I urge that you both in version 1.16 and 1.17 enables each of your sub-folders (only one at a time) as this will ensure ALL of your flightplans gets updated to the latest format-version, even if multiple sub-folders contains flightplans with the same name. The way you do this is to go into the "Enable/Disable flightplans" form that can be opened from the "Flightplan" main-menu item. In the top right side of the form you go through all of your sub-folders and make sure that the "Enable flightplans in this sub-folder" check-box is only checked for a single of your sub-folders. Then you click close to return to the main form, and all flightplans in that sub-folder will be reloaded and re-saved if necessary. Then again you open the "Enable/Disable-flightplans" form, disable the folder you previous enabled, and then enable the next of your sub-folders (rinse and repeat). If you have any flightplan in the [ROOT] folder you should ideally move these to a sub-folder PRIOR to performing the instructions listed before. If you are (100%) sure that you don't have same named flightplans in multiple folders you don't have to do it one at a time, and you can simply activate all sub-folders at once. Likewise if you don't import flightplans yourself, or have all your flightplans in the [ROOT].

 

To clarify: version 1.17 will be fully compatible with version 1.16, but not fully compatible with version 1.15 or previous (hence why I urge all to update to versions 1.16 now). Likewise version 1.18 will be fully compatible with version 1.17, but not with version 1.16 or previous (hence why I urge all to update to version 1.17 when it releases). Going forward future versions should (at least for a long time) be fully backward compatible with prevous versions back to version 1.17.

 

So a user updating from version 1.15 (or previous) to version 1.18 (or later) here is the process to go through:

  • Install version 1.16 (don't skip this version)
  • Start version 1.16 and enable all flightplan sub-folders (one at a time).
  • Install version 1.17 (don't skip this version)
  • Start version 1.17 and enable all flightplan sub-folders (one at a time).
  • Install version 1.18 (or later)
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

The video for version 1.17 was uploaded last night. I suggest that you at least have a look at the first part as it shows how to make sure all of your flightplans gets updated in case you have them in multiple sub-folders. Remember that both version 1.16 and 1.17 are considered being mandatory. So if you have not yet been enabling all of your 1.16 flightplan sub-folderes you should do so prior to installing version 1.17 (when it becomes available).

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...