Jump to content


Welcome dear guest,

We like to ask you to log-in or to create an account if you don't have an account. Being a member of this forum allows you to post messages and gives you access to the free downloads. It is by far the fastest way to get any support for the many products we sell. Creating an account is fast and easy, certainly if you already have a Twitter or Facebook account. Do note we take your privacy very serious and will never allow any other company to access your information.
 
Wir bitten Sie, sich mit Ihren Log-in Daten im Forum anzumelden oder sich einen neuen Account anzulegen falls Sie noch über keinen verfügen. Als Mitglied des Forums können Sie Ihre Mitteilungen an andere Mitglieder oder an uns posten und Sie erhalten Zugriff auf kostenlose Downloads. Außerdem ist die Nutzung unseres Forums bei weitem der schnellste Weg um Support für die vielen Produkte zu bekommen, die wir verkaufen. Einen Account zu erstellen geht einfach und schnell, vor allem wenn Sie bereits bei Twitter oder Facebook registriert sind. Sie können sicher sein, dass wir die Privatsphäre unserer Mitglieder schätzen und schützen. Es wird keiner weiteren Firma gestattet Einsicht in Ihre Daten zu nehmen.]
 
Nos gustaría pedirle que accediese a su cuenta, si la tiene, o que cree una cuenta, si es que no la tiene. Pertenecer a este foro le permite colocar mensajes y le da acceso a las descargas gratuitas. Es con mucho la forma mas rápida de obtener cualquier tipo de soporte para la multitud de productos que comercializamos. Crear una cuenta es rápido y fácil, y  lo es mas si tiene una cuenta en Twitter o en Facebook. Considere además que nos tomamos su privacidad muy en serio y que nunca permitiremos a ninguna otra compañía que tenga acceso a su información.
 
Gostaríamos solicitar que acesse a sua conta, se você já tem uma ou que crie una nova. Pertencer a este foro permite que você possa postar e permite usar as nossas descargas gratuitas. É a forma mais rápida de ter suporte nos muitos produtos que vendemos- Criar uma conta é rápido e fácil, mais ainda se você tem conta no Twitter ou no Facebook. Acrescentar que nos levamos muito a serio a sua privacidade, e que jamais vamos permitir o acesso aos seus dados a outras companhias.
 
Nous vous demandons de vous identifier ou créer un compte si vous n'avez pas encore de compte. Etre membre de ce forum vous permet de poster des messages et vous donne accès à des téléchargements gratuits. C'est le moyen le plus rapide pour obtenir un support pour les nombreux produits que nous vendons. Créer un compte est rapide et facile, surtout si vous avez déjà un compte Twitter ou Facebook. Ne noter que nous prenons votre vie privée très au sérieux et ne permettrons jamais à une autre société pour accéder à vos informations.
Guest Message by DevFuse
Photo

FDC Live Cockpit 2011 with PMDG 747 in FSX


  • Locked Topic This topic is closed
11 replies to this topic

#1 Tight Git

Tight Git

    Corporal

  • _Members
  • Pip
  • 5 Posts:

Posted 12 April 2013 - 13:30

As title, I'm trying to get FDC Live Cockpit 2011 to help me fly the PMDG 747 in FSX.

 

Specifically, the Virtual Co-Pilot works flaps and gear ok, but only calls (not operates) the Autopilot and auto-brakes, so I have to switch these myself.

 

Is this correct, please?

 

 


  • 0

#2 Tight Git

Tight Git

    Corporal

  • _Members
  • Pip
  • 5 Posts:

Posted 18 April 2013 - 08:25

50 views and no response?

 

Perhaps not surprising given that even Aerosoft Support can't tell me...


  • 0

#3 olli4740

olli4740

    "Cpt. Lonestar"

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4865 Posts:

Posted 18 April 2013 - 12:01

Be aware that the 747X is heavily custom-coded while FDC is aimed at reading data from the FSX SDK.

 

So FDC does NOT have much of a chance to read the position of every knob and switch on your 747X to tell you whether you should act or not.

 

For a custom-coded copilot you should have a look at the taylor-made FS2Crew version (much more complex, though, and "locked" to a single aircraft).

 

Having said this, I like my FDC a lot:

 

- You can run your checklists. Not every single item will be interactive, but the full list is there and you can check the knobs and switches for yourself.

- You get the performance file which tells you when to raise or lower the next notch of flaps (kind of stall protection!)

- Lots of options to configure. Be prepared to develop your own set of checklists, just as rw airlines would develop their own ones from the "template" provided from Boeing!

 

On the Aerosoft product page, there's a pdf manual freely available for download so you have a chance to check FDC against others before you buy (FS2Crew, MultiCrewEnvironment, for example).

 

Feel free to come back here and ask something specific. I'm biased towards FDC and have been using it for a number of years. Got this thread bookmarked, now.


  • 0

Viele Grüße/Regards, Oliver
"How   N O T   to become a beta tester???"
BGYl.png


#4 Tight Git

Tight Git

    Corporal

  • _Members
  • Pip
  • 5 Posts:

Posted 18 April 2013 - 15:56

Many thanks for your reply.

 

I used to have an older version of FDC which I used with FS9 and was reasonably certain that most everything worked with the PMDG 747 (my favourite).

 

I've just spent £2,000 on a new computer specifically to run FSX and so was disappointed to find the latest FDC doesn't seem as good.

 

Oh well, I suppose it's not beneath the Captain to operate a few switches if it means a happy landing!


  • 0

#5 olli4740

olli4740

    "Cpt. Lonestar"

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4865 Posts:

Posted 18 April 2013 - 16:30

Check your FDC version to find out whether you can update at no cost at all.

 

The updated FDC won't be worse than an older one. It'll all depend on the particular aircraft you pick for your next flight!


  • 0

Viele Grüße/Regards, Oliver
"How   N O T   to become a beta tester???"
BGYl.png


#6 pasterke

pasterke

    Major

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 122 Posts:

Posted 19 April 2013 - 06:45

Hi,

 

and don't forget to check the FDC forum here :

 

http://www.ocs-suppo...ewforum.php?f=5

 

Dave Leesley is very helpfull to help you with your 747 checklist


  • 0
Cheers,
patrick

Posted ImagePosted Image

#7 olli4740

olli4740

    "Cpt. Lonestar"

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4865 Posts:

Posted 19 April 2013 - 06:56

Last word must be mine, of course ...   ;-)

 

(...)

I used to have an older version of FDC which I used with FS9 and was reasonably certain that most everything worked with the PMDG 747 (my favourite).

(...)

 

 

All the "official" addon checklists can be found in the file library of flightsim.com

 

Searching for 'fdc' should give you all the FDC related files - checklists and performance files alike!


  • 0

Viele Grüße/Regards, Oliver
"How   N O T   to become a beta tester???"
BGYl.png


#8 Tight Git

Tight Git

    Corporal

  • _Members
  • Pip
  • 5 Posts:

Posted 19 April 2013 - 08:38

I should have made clear that I've bought the latest version of FDC  with the latest version of the PMDG 747, so no updates are required.

 

Many thanks to all who've replied.


  • 0

#9 pasterke

pasterke

    Major

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 122 Posts:

Posted 19 April 2013 - 09:50

I should have made clear that I've bought the latest version of FDC  with the latest version of the PMDG 747, so no updates are required

 

so what version are you talking about ? the latest version is 3.14 ?


  • 0
Cheers,
patrick

Posted ImagePosted Image

#10 olli4740

olli4740

    "Cpt. Lonestar"

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4865 Posts:

Posted 19 April 2013 - 09:55

Headline reads FDC2011, so T.G. should have been able to update to 3.14, right?

 

 

 

T.G.:

 

Not sure which 747 checklists are included with 3.14, so check flightsim.com for the taylor-made PMDG 747 ones. I'm absolutely sure I got special PMDG C/Ls next to those default 747 ones in my installation!


  • 0

Viele Grüße/Regards, Oliver
"How   N O T   to become a beta tester???"
BGYl.png


#11 Tight Git

Tight Git

    Corporal

  • _Members
  • Pip
  • 5 Posts:

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:33

Yes, it's 3.14.

 

Just to be clear, the VCP reads the checklists but then expects his Captain (me!) to do the switching of altimeter, brakes, etc.

 

A case for BALPA perhaps? (LOL)


  • 0

#12 olli4740

olli4740

    "Cpt. Lonestar"

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4865 Posts:

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:56

There are a number of options to get the VCP a tad more involved, actually (as can be seen in the corresponding VCP options menu and the manual, thoroughly studied over all those years ...   ;-)   ).

 

It all boils down to the question, whether the corresponding aircraft parameters are custom-coded or accessible by FDC.

 

- L/G: should work fine ("default key")

- flaps: as L/G

- A/P: touch'n'go for addon planes, no chance with PMDG I guess

- brakes: see L/G

- autobrakes: T'n'G

- altimeters: compare flaps


  • 0

Viele Grüße/Regards, Oliver
"How   N O T   to become a beta tester???"
BGYl.png





0 User(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users