Intel to AMD? Whats your opinion?

I'm thinking about upgrading my Desktop CPU from a Intel® Core i7-2600 CPU @3.4 Ghz to a AMD FD8350FRHKBOX FX-8350 Eight-Core 4GHz AM3+ Processor - AM3+, Eight-Core, 4GHz, 16MB, 125W, Unlocked. First of all, since I am not too experienced with hardware, I was wondering, if you can even do his swap. The i7-2600 is my computers stock CPU and is not overclocked, is it possible to go from Intel to AMD, or is one computer specifically designed to work with one brand. Second, I was wondering if this swap is recommended and if it is better to just overclock my intel instead of trying to buy a whole new CPU. I am looking for the cheapest way possible to speed up my FSX, and had to know if it is just better to overclock my current CPU, or buy a new one. If it helps, here are my computer specs: http://support.gateway.com/s/desktop/2011/gateway/fx/fx6860/FX6860sp2.shtml. Please note that I have upgraded my RAM from 8 to 16, but other than that the computer is stock.

Regards,

John

• Deputy Sheriffs

I'm not really a fan of AMD. My experience is that FSX runs better on intel and nvidia rather than AMD.

If the swap is possible I would not know, not that of an expert.

What I would do, and this is my opinion, I would buy an intel CPU which has the K in it so that overclocking becomes easier.

Keep in mind that overclocking is something that isn't just CPU related, other components need to be good enough to handle it as well.

You will need to buy a new motherboard to do the swap. And you already have a pretty good CPU. Generally FSX performs better on Intel chips. Like JerdooFlightX said, Intel K chips are great for overclocking.

To my knowledge AMD is best when it comes to the power for a special amount of money, but INTEL is better when only the power counts.

According to CPU boss the AMD FX8350 scores better with programs that can use all 8 cores, but programs that cannot, e.g. with the FSX the i7 2600K seems to score better: