choosing the right runway (ai traffic landing)

jd_jay

I appologies if this has been asked, but im a newbie and have only just got the airbus and feel somewhat behind.

I have done the turorial flight numerous times and feel i have now got the hang of things.

i appreciate that the AXE doesnt really work well with FSX ATC due to fligh plan issues, ie not being FSX .pln.

my question is, how do you choose the right runway for landing, and selecting STARs when you are entering the flight plan into the MCDU prior to departure. so you do not end up landing on the opposite runway to AI traffic etc.??

some friendly advise would be much appreciated.

Best would be to set some winds in the FSX weather screen to make the AI traffic choose your runway.

You can't tell for sure which runway the AIs use until your about 70 nm from your destination (ATIS); that's why I recommend that 'cheat'.

Flying 'the hard way' would be to program one approach before takeoff and change that to another one when in flight ...

ok so from my limited knowledge i can do the following:

ask ATC on the stand for VFR take off clearence to get the correct takeoff runway, program in the SID, flightplan etc, and then leave the destination as the airport code.

This will still give me a TOD point to which i would start decending, when ATIS is in range, i could then find out the correct runway for landing.

Enter the correct STAR and runway into the flight plan, and execute.

Would the managed desent automatically then take over for the STAR.

then ask ATC for landing clearence.

Your right, basically, just adding:

Before taxi you can choose the runway to your liking (but 'going with the flow' is advised).

Entering a complete TRANS, STAR and RWY while still on the ground wouldn't hurt; if your estimate is correct you can just head on after obtaining ATIS.

Changing arrivals will erase the old arrival automatically, so there will be little confusion about the remaining waypoints.