CumulusX, Ridge Lift and Thermals

VulcanB2

Hi,

I'm new to serious FS gliding, although I have got about 50 hours in the real thing (K-13 mainly).

I haven't looked too closely at the settings yet for CumulusX, but I just tried some ridge soaring in the Aerosoft Discus BM and so far, very pleased!!

My main query is to do with ridge lift/sink. I set an 18 kt wind from 270, putting the wind the far side of the mountains in HawaiiX (by MegaScenery).

The lift was about what I expected, but the sink seemed rather aggressive. At certain points, even though I was over the peak, on the up-wind side, I was in quite strong sink and had to fly quickly back into the lift. Is this a limitation, or to do with the settings?

It's like the point where Cumulus detects the top of the ridge, however steep the upwind side is, it assumes it is equally steep immediately behind it, but at a point immediately over the top of the ridge.

Instead of /-\ it is more like /\.

Are there any suggestions/recommendations for more realistic settings than the default?

With respect to the Discus BM particularly (or just the B ), what should I set the Slope lift and sink factors to? The default has them both at 1.0.

-------------------

Regarding auto-thermal generation, does it automatically take cloud ceiling as set via FS Weather menu into account when generating thermals?

In the settings, you can set a max/min ceiling for thermals, but it is unclear whether thermals can terminate lower than the cloud base unless reset for the current conditions?

Thanks!!

Best regards,

Robin.

For ridgelift, the with the wind left-to-right, here's a display of what CumulusX calculates (red=lift, blue=sink):

cx_ridgelift.jpg

Sink is not dependent upon the forward-facing slope, but only on the steepness of the backslope.

Are there any suggestions/recommendations for more realistic settings than the default?