Autopilot Tutorials?

I'm just getting started flying the Aerosoft Twin Otter (despite having bought it on the day it was released). As a result, I think I'm a bit behind on the learning curve relative to most people here. So my question is this: Are there tutorials laying around here somewhere? I see mentions here on this forum of videos, but no links?

I flew it on a short flight this evening and the autopilot doesn't make any sense to me:

1. I don't seem to be able to fly it in heading mode only? As soon as I engage it in Hdg mode, even with Alt and VS buttons off, it wants to control my altitude? How do I turn off the altitude control while leaving the heading control engaged?

2. Vertical guidance seems random to me? Sometimes, engaging Alt mode for a descent causes the aircraft to dive at greater than 2000 ft/min, while other times it doesn't descend at all? I've seen a video and a comment that says you need to press the VS button after selecting Alt and then press the up/down buttons on the RHS of the autopilot, but that doesn't seem to work reliably? Sometimes the LCD displays the VS and the values change by 100 foot increments with each button press when you do that, while other times it doesn't? (The times it has dived me towards the ground at greater than 2000 fpm, I couldn't get it to show the VS option.)

I must be doing something wrong? Any help would be appreciated.

P.S.

I am running version 1.0.5 of the Twin Otter.

27 minutes ago, BenKorek2021 said:

1. I don't seem to be able to fly it in heading mode only? As soon as I engage it in Hdg mode, even with Alt and VS buttons off, it wants to control my altitude? How do I turn off the altitude control while leaving the heading control engaged?