More bizarre routing by PFPX

This morning I planned a flight from KBOS to KIAD. Departure around 12:15UT. With no interference from me this is the route PFPX planned:-

N0468F320 LBSTA6 LBSTA V139 PVD DCT HFD DCT CMK DCT SAX J6 PARKE HYPER7

Distance 472nm. I received a warning that this was substantially greater than the GC distance of 360nm The SID heading NE towards the Atlantic before turning south then SW seemed bizarre for a 31L departure when there's a westerly SID.

So I decided to see if I could plan a better route. I came up with this stil with a 31L departure.

REVSS4 REVSS DCT SWALO J75 COPES J230 SAAME J6 HYPER HYPER7

Total distance 389nm. It looks to be valid but I'm no expert so I'll defer to those who know better.

The other point was the cruise level. 18000ft on the original changed to 320 after I entered 310 as the minimum. My plan resulted in a cruise of FL400.

There may well be reasons PFPX chose the route it did but if it replicates the real world I can't imagine airlines being impressed at all the extra fuel they have to carry.

Hi Ray,

this is what I have gotten from KBOS to KIAD using an A320 at a ZFW of 58t and everything else left unchanged.

BLZZR4 BLZZR DCT BAF HYPER7

It looks like this is the routing which is actually also used in real life, at least if you can trust FlightAware:

https://uk.flightaware.com/live/flight/UAL525/history/20190212/1455Z/KBOS/KIAD

The distance of this route is 445NM using runways 04R in KBOS and 01R in KIAD. I don't know if those would be realistic departure/arrival runways at those airport, so forgive me if they are not. They were automatically selected by PFPX.

I assume you are on an up-to-date AIRAC and RAD and have not made any special selections such as "do not use directs", right?

Maybe your PFPX looked at the winddata and wanted to fly lower or something like this? Looking at the windcharts it seems the wind is almost 70kt stronger at FL350 than it would be at FL200.