Mathijs Interview with FSElite

calzoom

I imagine linking to FSElite will be alright in this circumstance, if not please remove!

Mathijs was kind enough to spend some time answering some questions for FSElite for Developer Month. The whole month has been dedicated to supporting the whole development community. From large publishers like Aerosoft to smaller, solo developers. There's content daily from a range of people and subjects!

Anyway, here's what Mathijs had to say:

https://fselite.net/developer-month/developer-month-interview-aerosofts-mathijs-kok/

Tell us a little about yourselves and how you got started? What made you decide you wanted to develop for Flight Simulator and why?

Actually, I am not a developer (although I did the first Schiphol scenery about 21 years ago).

I started with the FS version for the Atari ST and yes that makes me ancient. 19 years ago, I started working for Lago but moved to Aerosoft soon after. At this moment, I run the internal aircraft development programs (Airbus and CRJ right now) and a few other scenery and tool add-ons. I also manage the support and quality control department.

How many of there in your team and what are your backgrounds before becoming developers?

Aerosoft has around 50 employees (it differs a bit as people are employed for projects) but I am responsible for 6 full time developers and 7 people most part-time for the support and quality control.

The older ones are just as me coming from the sim being a hobby, but the last ten years we are mostly hiring professionals that we train for our specific demands.

img_573606b54a7e7-1024x576.png?x29975

What interests do you have outside of Flight Simulation?