Jump to content


Welcome dear guest,

We like to ask you to log-in or to create an account if you don't have an account. Being a member of this forum allows you to post messages and gives you access to the free downloads. It is by far the fastest way to get any support for the many products we sell. Creating an account is fast and easy, certainly if you already have a Twitter or Facebook account. Do note we take your privacy very serious and will never allow any other company to access your information.
 
Wir bitten Sie, sich mit Ihren Log-in Daten im Forum anzumelden oder sich einen neuen Account anzulegen falls Sie noch über keinen verfügen. Als Mitglied des Forums können Sie Ihre Mitteilungen an andere Mitglieder oder an uns posten und Sie erhalten Zugriff auf kostenlose Downloads. Außerdem ist die Nutzung unseres Forums bei weitem der schnellste Weg um Support für die vielen Produkte zu bekommen, die wir verkaufen. Einen Account zu erstellen geht einfach und schnell, vor allem wenn Sie bereits bei Twitter oder Facebook registriert sind. Sie können sicher sein, dass wir die Privatsphäre unserer Mitglieder schätzen und schützen. Es wird keiner weiteren Firma gestattet Einsicht in Ihre Daten zu nehmen.]
 
Nos gustaría pedirle que accediese a su cuenta, si la tiene, o que cree una cuenta, si es que no la tiene. Pertenecer a este foro le permite colocar mensajes y le da acceso a las descargas gratuitas. Es con mucho la forma mas rápida de obtener cualquier tipo de soporte para la multitud de productos que comercializamos. Crear una cuenta es rápido y fácil, y  lo es mas si tiene una cuenta en Twitter o en Facebook. Considere además que nos tomamos su privacidad muy en serio y que nunca permitiremos a ninguna otra compañía que tenga acceso a su información.
 
Gostaríamos solicitar que acesse a sua conta, se você já tem uma ou que crie una nova. Pertencer a este foro permite que você possa postar e permite usar as nossas descargas gratuitas. É a forma mais rápida de ter suporte nos muitos produtos que vendemos- Criar uma conta é rápido e fácil, mais ainda se você tem conta no Twitter ou no Facebook. Acrescentar que nos levamos muito a serio a sua privacidade, e que jamais vamos permitir o acesso aos seus dados a outras companhias.
 
Nous vous demandons de vous identifier ou créer un compte si vous n'avez pas encore de compte. Etre membre de ce forum vous permet de poster des messages et vous donne accès à des téléchargements gratuits. C'est le moyen le plus rapide pour obtenir un support pour les nombreux produits que nous vendons. Créer un compte est rapide et facile, surtout si vous avez déjà un compte Twitter ou Facebook. Ne noter que nous prenons votre vie privée très au sérieux et ne permettrons jamais à une autre société pour accéder à vos informations.
Guest Message by DevFuse
Photo

City Bus Simulator 2010 Problem


  • Locked Topic This topic is closed
9 replies to this topic

#1 tonino

tonino

    Private

  • _Members
  • 1 Posts:

Posted 22 July 2010 - 17:44

Hello,

I currently own the game City Bus Simulator of 2010. When I launch the game I'm required to register. I'm writing my registration key and my name. But when I write my name, it displays information telling me:

System error (3) ..wrong user name, please contact the support of aerosoft.

How to solve this problem?

Thank you in advance.

PS:I'm french and I use an online translator to talk to you then that is what may explain a weird writing.
  • 0

#2 Reestv

Reestv

    Sergeant

  • _Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 Posts:

Posted 24 July 2010 - 14:01

Hi, when you say you're writing your name, Is it your actual name or your email address? To activate CBS you need to enter your email address & activation key that came with your purchase. (Well that's how I purchased mine anyway!)

Regards,
Reestv.
  • 0

#3 swedish-guy

swedish-guy

    Sergeant

  • _Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 Posts:

Posted 06 September 2010 - 14:03

Hi, when you say you're writing your name, Is it your actual name or your email address? To activate CBS you need to enter your email address & activation key that came with your purchase. (Well that's how I purchased mine anyway!)

Regards,
Reestv.



Hi i got same problem and were shall i write Email?
  • 0

#4 Bruce Hamilton

Bruce Hamilton

    Brigadier

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 Posts:

Posted 06 September 2010 - 14:55

Hi i got same problem and were shall i write Email?


support at aerosoft.com Posted Image
  • 0

Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell 4.0 GHz EVGA Z97 Classified EVGA Supernova 850 G2 G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB Western Digital 1TB GeForce GTX 780 Superclock


#5 Guest_rexx_*

Guest_rexx_*
  • _Guests

Posted 29 September 2010 - 12:21

Post edited by Admin.

  • 0

#6 Guest_rexx_*

Guest_rexx_*
  • _Guests

Posted 29 September 2010 - 12:23

Hello,

I currently own the game City Bus Simulator of 2010. When I launch the game I'm required to register. I'm writing my registration key and my name. But when I write my name, it displays information telling me:

System error (3) ..wrong user name, please contact the support of aerosoft.

How to solve this problem?

Thank you in advance.

PS:I'm french and I use an online translator to talk to you then that is what may explain a weird writing.


Post edited by Admin
  • 0

#7 mat6488

mat6488

    Private

  • _Members
  • 1 Posts:

Posted 09 December 2010 - 21:18

I bought the game City Bus Simulator 2010, when I, am put the CD in the driver the installprocess starts.

After I acceptLicense agreement the system say" For installation, online registration and thebus simulator game it self, you will need administrator rights, please ensurethat you have these rights" I got my registration code that I found in the box,but the next step in the instal process was the question on which drive I wantto install my game, after I chose the correct drive, the game says that he couldn'tlocated my game, but I have enough space on that drive.

Now is myquestion, why asked the game in the installation process not his registration codeand has this missing installation process something to do with the incorrectworking of this game?



By the waysorry for my bad grammar, I live in the Netherlands, and writing in Englisch is not my speciality.
  • 0

#8 Shaun Fletcher

Shaun Fletcher

    Aerosoft Forum Administrator

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18972 Posts:

Posted 15 December 2010 - 11:20

Hello mat6488,

Can you please write to support@aerosoft.com regarding this.
  • 0

On behalf of Aerosoft and with kind regards, Shaun Fletcher
Aerosoft_LOGO.gif


Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.
Please note that support is not done via Private Messages.
If you prefer support via email, http://aerosoft.zend...us_requests/new


#9 tibo

tibo

    Private

  • _Members
  • 1 Posts:

Posted 23 February 2011 - 22:33

hello
how should it be activated for the game city bus simulator 2010 thank you to answer me as soon as possible
  • 0

#10 Shaun Fletcher

Shaun Fletcher

    Aerosoft Forum Administrator

  • _Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18972 Posts:

Posted 24 February 2011 - 22:37

hello
how should it be activated for the game city bus simulator 2010 thank you to answer me as soon as possible


Hello Tibo,

You need to run the game as Administrator if using Windows Vista/7 by right clicking on the game start icon and selecting "Run as Administrator" then enter your registration details.
  • 0

On behalf of Aerosoft and with kind regards, Shaun Fletcher
Aerosoft_LOGO.gif


Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.
Please note that support is not done via Private Messages.
If you prefer support via email, http://aerosoft.zend...us_requests/new





0 User(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users