assign airbus commands to encoders

ram123

Greetings fellow members,

For new year resolution, I have decided to make a cockpit control panel switch for myself.  I have been using the Linda module and fsupic registered for fsx se.

I just ran into a problem . I fly the aerosoft extended . I use the Linda module for button assignment for the aerosoft airbus.

For my home cockpit , I am planning to use potentiometer for setting the ALTITUDE , SPEED , HEADING VALUES . But the problem is the Linda module for the airbus extended contains the respective commands for button assignment only . But, as a potentiometer will be an axis assignment , I want to assign the setting for potentiometer. In fsupic axis assignment page , although there are various option available for changing the ALTITUDE and other values for fs standard aircraft , but  they don't work in airbus extended. Unfortunately, I have no knowledge of programming to create my own files. Can you please provide a solution to the problem which will enable me to assign the altitude speed heading of the airbus extended to the potentiometer using axis assignment page , or if you have more better option please do advise.

Your assistance is highly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Good day,

update: i was suggested to use rotary encoder instead of a potentiometer .

• Deputy Sheriffs
3 hours ago, ram123 said:

update: i was suggested to use rotary encoder instead of a potentiometer .

The problem with a potentiometer is, that is has a min and a max value. Meaning you can't turn it endlessly in both directions. You need something that allows you to turn it endlessly in any direction and just gives you triggers (including the direction of turning). 

Get yourself the latest copy of LINDA and the Airbus LINDA module. The module includes an "actions.lua" file. That includes quite a lot of ready o use LUA functions that come quite handy here:

AB_SPD_plus 
AB_SPD_plusfast 
AB_SPD_minus 
AB_SPD_minusfast 

AB_HDG_plus